RED LAKE WATERSHED DISTRICT

Board of Manager's Minutes January 8, 2009

Present were: Managers Dale M. Nelson, Orville Knott, Lee Coe, Gene Tiedemann and Jim Votava. Absent: Arnold Stanley and Vernon Johnson. Staff Present: Myron Jesme and Tammy Audette and Legal Counsel Delray Sparby.

The Board reviewed the agenda. A motion was made by Knott, seconded by Votava, and passed by unanimous vote that the Board approve the agenda.

Tammy Audette read the minutes of December 29, 2008. A motion was made by Coe, seconded by Tiedemann, and passed by unanimous vote that the Board approve the minutes as printed.

The Board reviewed the Financial Report and Investment Summary dated January 7, 2009. A motion was made by Tiedemann, seconded by Knott, and passed by unanimous vote that the Board approve the Financial Report and Investment Summary dated January 7, 2009.

Polk County Commissioners reappointed Manager Tiedemann to another 3-year term. Manager Johnson is not seeking another term. Clearwater County is in the process of advertising for Johnson's position and has asked Manager Johnson to represent Clearwater County until a replacement has been seated.

Election of officers was conducted with President Nelson turning the meeting over to Vice President Gene Tiedemann. Manager Tiedemann called for nominations for president. Manager Votava nominated Dale M. Nelson. Upon calling for further nominations three times, a motion was made by Votava for nominations to cease, seconded by Coe, and that the secretary cast a unanimous vote ballot for Dale M. Nelson for president of the Board. Motion carried.

Vice President Tiedemann turned the meeting over to President Nelson to conduct elections for the remaining Board positions.

Nominations were opened for vice-president. Manager Coe nominated Gene Tiedemann for vice-president. Upon calling for further nominations three times, a motion was made by Knott for nominations to cease, seconded by Coe, and that the secretary cast a unanimous ballot for Gene Tiedemann for vice-president of the Board. Motion carried.

Nominations were opened for secretary. Manager Votava nominated Orville Knott for secretary. Upon calling for further nominations three times, Manager Coe moved that nominations cease, seconded by Tiedemann, and that the secretary cast a unanimous ballot for Orville Knott as secretary of the Board. Motion carried.

Nominations were opened for treasurer. Manager Votava nominated Lee Coe for treasurer. Upon calling for further nominations three times, Manager Knott moved that

Red Lake Watershed District January 8, 2009 Page 2 of 3

nominations cease, seconded by Tiedemann, and that the secretary cast a unanimous ballot for Lee Coe as treasurer of the Board. Motion carried.

The Overall Advisory Committee and the specific watershed area Advisory Committee members were discussed by the Board. A motion was made by Tiedemann, seconded by Knott, to approve the Overall Advisory Committee and Advisory Committee lists as presented. Motion carried.

The positions of Delegate and Alternate to the Red River Watershed Management Board (RRWMB) were discussed. Presently Manager Knott is serving his last year of a three year term as delegate, with Manager Stanley as the alternate. A motion was made by Tiedemann, seconded by Coe, for Manager Knott to be reappointed as a Delegate to the RRWMB for another three year term and Manager Coe as the alternate, to the RRWMB. Motion carried.

Delegates and Alternates to the Minnesota Association of Watershed Districts were discussed. Motion by Knott, seconded by Votava, and passed by unanimous vote for Manager Coe to serve as the delegate, and Manager Tiedemann to serve as alternate.

The committees for the JD 2 and JD 72 Joint Ditch Boards were reviewed. A motion was made by Coe, seconded by Votava, and passed by unanimous vote to appoint Managers Votava and Johnson to the JD 2 and JD 72 Joint Ditch Boards.

The Budget/Salary Committee was discussed by the Board. A motion was made by Knott, seconded by Votava, to approve Managers Nelson, Coe and Tiedemann to serve on the Budget/Salary Committee. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Tiedemann, seconded by Votava, and passed by unanimous vote that the regularly scheduled Board meetings continue to be held on the second and fourth Thursdays of each month of 2009.

A motion was made by Tiedemann, seconded by Votava, and passed by unanimous vote that the following financial institutions be designed as depositories for the RLWD: Northern State Bank, Border State Bank, Access Bank, First National Bank of Bemidji, Unity Bank, Ultima Bank and Edward Jones. Motion by Coe, seconded by Votava, with motion carried to approve the following signatures on the signature cards at the financial institutions: Dale M. Nelson, Gene Tiedemann, Orville Knott, Lee Coe, Myron Jesme and Arlene Novak.

Discussion was held regarding a letter received from the Citizens for Farmland Preservation pertaining to Minnesota's Open Meeting Law regarding the RRWMB. Legal Counsel Delray Sparby discussed open meeting law requirements. Manager Knott will report back to the board after the next RRWMB meeting.

Legal Counsel Delray Sparby discussed points of concern in the Drainage Work Group 2008 Consensus Recommendations. Sparby will present his concerns in writing to Administrator Jesme.

Red Lake Watershed District January 8, 2009 Page 3 of 3

The Minnesota Viewers Association Dues for 2009 was presented for approval. A motion was made by Coe, seconded by Tiedemann, with motion carried to approve the payment of \$125.00 for the Minnesota Viewers Association 2009 dues.

Staff members Gary Lane, Corey Hanson, Jim Blix and Loren Sanderson gave a brief overview of 2008 activities.

The Board reviewed the permit for approval. A motion was made by Knott, seconded by Tiedemann, to approve the following permit with conditions stated on the permit: No. 08094, Eric Samuelson, Fairfax Township, Polk County. Motion carried.

Administrators Update:

- A meeting for the Joint Powers Board for the Grand Marais Creek Restoration Project will be held on January 12, 2009 at 10:00 a.m. at the RLWD office. The Project Work Team will meet on January 15, 2009 at 9:30 a.m. also at the RLWD office. The MSTRWD Administrator stated that the Joint Powers Agreement has been mailed to the Chairman of their Board and will be mailed to the RLWD for signature. Jesme will attend the FDRWG meeting on January 13, 2009 in Detroit Lakes to discuss RIM signup and acres required, give an overview of the project and answer any questions the group may have of the proposed project.
- Jesme stated that he has contacted the landowner north of the property owned by Otter Tail Corporation for the Clearbrook Stormwater Retention Project. The landowner was favorable with the idea of selling his land for this project. Jesme contacted Otter Tail Corporation who indicated that the RLWD should decide which option we would like to pursue, whether it be an easement or purchase of the property. After discussion with Legal Counsel Sparby, Jesme indicated to Otter Tail Corporation that an easement would be the best option to pursue. A response should be forthcoming as to any stipulations they would require with the hopes of drafting an option to present to the Board.
- A draft Viewers report was received for the re-determination of benefits for RLWD Ditch #8, Project 36. RLWD staff is in the process of reviewing the draft report. A hearing for this project will occur sometime in late spring or early summer so we can get a better on-site field review of the drainage system.
- The Viewers for RLWD Ditch 13, Lateral to Pennington County Ditch #75, Project 170, have stated that the Viewers Report is nearly completed for the Board to review.
- IRS mileage rates changed to .55 per mile effective January 1, 2009.

Motion by Votava, seconded by Knott, with motion carried to adjourn the meeting.

Orville Knott, Secretary

Omille Knots